Meet the team

Mr J Duffy (Head of House), Mrs S Williams (Student Manager)

History of Thorngrove

Thorngrove County High School was originally the Hough Secondary Modern School for Boys which opened in 1965 on Thorngrove Road – on land now occupied by the A34 bypass. In 1978 the girls’ grammar school became Dean Row High School and the boys’ grammar school became Harefield County High School, all three gradually offering  comprehensive education year by year.  In 1984, all the schools closed, leaving Wilmslow with one high school.  In 1984 it became Wilmslow County High School, then Wilmslow High School in 1991.

After several years, it was decided that the school would implement a House system. Therefore, four houses were formed and the name of each respective house was selected from relevant local landmarks and historical places of interest in the town.

Each house has an associated colour linked with it – Thorngrove is ‘green’. All students therefore can be identified by the green stripe on their tie which they wear with pride.


Thorngrove is led by the Head of House, Mr J Duffy and Mrs S Williams is the Student Manager. They are supported by a committed team of form tutors.  In Thorngrove, every student really does matter and we promote a supportive team ethos which is conducive to both the progress and development of all. There is a strong culture of belonging and a clear sense of house identity.  As a team we strongly believe that being approachable is fundamental to a student’s happiness in school.